MLA from the mountains to the prairies

  • Home
  • IFC members and terms

IFC Committee Members

The Intellectual Freedom Committee is a group of MLA members representing a broad spectrum of MLA members, and covering public, school, academic, and special libraries.

The committee consists of:

  • 3 to 9 members who are current members of MLA
  • 3 members representing academic and special libraries
  • 3 members representing public libraries
  • 3 members representing school libraries
  • At least 1 chair and chair-elect chosen by the committee

Members are solicited from the MLA membership by the committee chair who submits them to the current MLA President. The MLA President approves the appointments and submits them to the MLA Executive Board for approval at the summer meeting. 

Each member serves a 3-year term, with no more than 3 consecutive terms.  

Current members of the MLA Intellectual Freedom Committee

  • PLD - Matt Beckstrom, Lewis and Clark Library, Second term ends June 2024
  • PLD - Beth Boyson, Bozeman Public Library, First term, ends July 2026
  • SLD - Hayley Botnen, Billings West/Skyview High School Libraries, First term ends June 2025
  • SLD - Kerri Cobb, Gallatin High School, First term ends June 2024

  • ASLD - Anne Kish (ASLD), University of Montana-Western, Third term ends June 2025
  • ASLD - Jim Kammerer, Montana State Library, First term ends June 2025
  • At Large - Vacant
  • At Large - Kaia Rosen, Montana Department of Transportation, First term ends June 2025
  • At Large - Mary Drew Powers, Whitefish Community Library, First term ends June 2025


Montana Library Association is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. PO Box 823, Arlee, MT 59821

2024 Montana Library Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software